Goa: The smallest State of Indian Union

Reference to Goa can be found since vedic literature. Mahbharata refers it as Gamantaka, the name still in practice. Goa was a part of emperor Ashoka's Mauryan empire in 300 BC. After that it was under the rule of various Hindu rulers from Satvahanas, Rashtrakutas to Vijaynagar empire.

When European powers began to spread their wings in Asia, Goa came under Portuguese rule in early 16th century. The Portuguese hold on Goa continued even after India's independence. People of Goa wanted to join India. They faught a bitter battle against Portuguese hegemony. Finally it took military intervention (operation Vijay) in 1961 by Indian armed forces to liberate Goa and merge it with India's mainland.

Situated along the Konkan coast, Goa is the smallest state in Indian Union. It is adjacent to Maharashtra and Karnataka. Goa is one of the most popular holiday destination for Indians and many foreign tourists. Its beautiful beaches, the buildings of Portuguese architecture and ancient Hindu temples are the main attractions.

Till 1987, Goa, Daman and Diu were union territories. In 1987, Goa was accorded full statehood. During the last twnty years, Goa is marred by political instability. Indian national Congress, BJP and Maharashtravadi Gomantak Party (MGP) are main political parties. Dayanand Bandodkar was the state's first CM. His daughter Shashikala Kakodkar also became CM. Digambar Kamat of Congress is the incumbent CM of Goa.


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: