Famous personalities of Himachal Pradesh

National Movement of Himachal Pradesh

Baba Kashi Ram- Baba Kashi Ram born on 11th July 1882 in Dehragopipur in Kangra district. He took part ion freedom struggle actively. In 1937 at Gadriwala conference Pt. Nehru gave him the title of Pahari Gandhi.

Bakshi Pratap Singh- Bakshi Pratap Singh born on 20th October 1912 at village Chaddiyar, district Kangra. In 1942 he left British army and joined INA. He was elected to the Punjab Vidhan Sabha in 1952 and was a minister from 1957-62 in Punjab. In 1966, after the reorganization of Punjab hill areas in Himachal Pradesh he became revenue minister of the state and congruence vise-president.

Bhagmal Sayhta- Bhagmal Sayhta born on 23rd September 1899 in village Dhar, in district Shimla. He joined congress in 1922 and participated in Praja Mandal movement. He went to jail a number of times and also led Dhami movement in 1939.

Daualt Ram Sankhyan- Daualt Ram Sankhyan born on 16th December 1919 in village Panchayatan in district Bilaspur. He participated in freedom struggle, Praja Mandal movement and agitation against the Raja of Bilaspur and was in jail for a good number of years. He becamecongress party state president in 1957 and was a minister for a number of years.

Krishnanand Swami- Krishnanand Swami was born in Khanakagli in Mandi district. He joined freedom movement in 1921-22. In 1942 he took part in the quit India movement. He was member of Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha from 1952-57.

Lal Chand Prarthi- Lal Chand Prarthi was born at Naggar in 1916 in Kullu. He started his carrier as a social worker and participated in the quit India movement. He was elected to the Vidhan Sabha in 1952, 1962 and 1967 and became minister. He died on 11 December 1982.

Padam Dev- Padam Dev was born on 26th January 1901 in village Bhamnol in district Shimla. He was popularly known as Kaviraj. He participated in non-cooperation movement and civil disobedience in 1930. he laid the foundation of Himalaya Riyasti Praja Mandal and fought against the Reet, Beggar and Untouchabilities. Elected to Vidhan Sabha in 1952 and became first Home Minister of the state. In 1957, was elected to L9ok Sabha, 1962 territorial council and again in 1967 for Vidhan Sabha.

Yash Pal- Yash Pal was born on 3, 1903 at Bhumpal in district Hamirpur. He conspired to plant bomb under the train of Lord Irwin in 1928, remained in prison for six years. He wrote the famous book 'Simhabalokan' and died in 26th January 1971.

Justice Mehar Chand Mahajan- Justice Mehar Chand Mahajan was born on 3rd December 1889 in Nagrota in district Kangra. He had his early education in district Kangra, in 1912 got law degree from Lahore, on 27th December 1943 became judge in Lahore court, after partitions became judge in a court in East Punjab and later on was appointed Prime-Minister of Kashmir. He was chief justice of India from January 1954 to 1954 December.

Major Som Nath Sharma- Major Som Nath Sharma was born on 31st January 1923 in Jamuu. His father was Major A.N. Sharma. He had his early education from Sherwood collage Nainital and prince of Wales National Acadenmy Dehradhoon, and got commission in 1942, on 3rd November 1947 he sacrificed his life, while fighting against Kabayli in Kashmir. For his inspirational courage, the government of India confirmed him with first Paramveer Chakra posthumously. His native village was Dad in Kangra district.

General V.N. Sharma- V.N. Sharma is the younger brother of Som Nath sharma. He had his early education from Sherwood Collage Nainital and prince of Wale National Academy Dehradhoon, commissioned in army in 1950, participated in wars in 1962-1965 and 1971; received PVSM and AVSM. From May 1988 to June 1990 he was chief of Army staff. He was first Himachali to occupy his coveted post.

Dr. Yashwant Singh Parmar- Dr. Yashwant Singh Parmar was born on 4th August 1906 in village Bhagthan in district Sirmaur and did law and Phd. from Lahore. Member Sewa Samiti Nahan (1919-20), member theosophical society Dehradhoon (1929), Sub-judge and first class magistrate in Sirmaur district (1920-37), Secretary in Nahan Cricket club (1937-39), district and session judge of Sirmaur (1937-41) advocate general in the office of judicial commissioner H.P., President Bhartiya Rajay Jansabha (1947) Suket agitation organized in 1948, appointed member for. All India congress comittey, contested and won 1952 Vidhan Sabha and became Chief Minister (1952-56), elected for Lok Sabha in 1957, became chief minister again in 1963-67 and then from 1967 to 1977.

Veer Badhra Singh- Veer Badhra Singh was born on 23 June 1934 and become 31st descendent of Raja of Bushar. He was elected member of Lok Sabha in 1962, 1967, 1972 and 1980. He was deputy minister at union cabinet from 1980-83 and was also state Industry minister for sometime. He was chief minister in 1983, 1990, 1993 and 1998. In 1998 he formed a minority government which collapsed after seven days.

Shanta Kumar- Shanta Kumar was born on 13th September 1934 in village Gharjumla in district Kangra. He has been active member of RSS, and won assembly seat in 1972, 1977, 1982 and 1990. He elected for Lok Sabha in 1990 and 1998. He was chief minister-twice from 1977-1980 and 1990 to 1992. He is famous as an able administrator, writer and clean imaged politician.

Prem Kumar Dhumal- Prem Kumar Dhumal was born on 10th April 1944 in village Samirpur in district Hamirpur, elected to the parliament in 1989 and again in 1991. He became the chief minister of the state, after being elected to Vidhan Sabha in 1998 from Bamsen constituency. He was state BJP president from 1993-98.

Thakur Gulab Singh- Thakur Gulab Singh was born on 29th May 1948 in village Manjornu. He elected to Vidhan Sabha in 1977, 1982, 1990, 1993 and 1998. From 1979 he was minister in the Himachal government with some breaks.


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: