Anna University, Chennai | Course Details | Departments | Contact Details

This article gives few information about Anna University which provides higher education in Tamil Nadu.

Anna University, Chennai

Name – Anna University
Motto of Anna University – "Progress Through Knowledge"
Established date of Anna University – 4-Sep'1978
Chancellor of Anna University - Governor of Tamil Nadu (Surjith Singh Barnala, As of 2010)
Vice Chancellor of Anna University – Dr.P.Mannar Jawahar
Registrar of Anna University – Dr.S.Shanmugavel
Location – Chennai, Tamil Nadu
Website of Anna University –

Anna University is ISO 15919 certified university. Anna University offers higher education in Engineering and Technology. College of Engineering, Guindy which was started in 1794, Madras Institute of Technology which was 1949, School of Architecture and Planning and Alagappa Chettiar College of Technology are the colleges integrated and formed Anna University.

In 2001, Anna University was converted as Affiliated University and all the Engineering colleges in Tamil Nadu came under the control of it.

History of Anna University

1. First Institution which starts Telecommunication and Highway Engineering in the year of 1945.
2. First Institution which introduce Aeronautical, Instrumentation, Automobile, Architecture and Planning Engineering courses
3. In the year of 1981, Anna University has started Post Graduate course in Medical Physics. Anna University is the first institution in Asia which introduces such course.
4. In 1996, Anna University introduced the Single Window System for Admission.

Achievements of Anna University

1. The whole campus of Anna University was provided with wifi access.
2. Nano Sciences and technology Research center has been started by the university
3. 'Technology for Teaching' Grant of $70000 has been awarded by HP
4. Digital Library has been established in Library.
5. Anna University was ranked 10 by Outlook magazine's Top 50 Engineering colleges.

Campus of Anna University

Anna University's main campus is located in southern Chennai with 100 acres of land nearby Adyar River and Raj Bhavan. Main Campus contains Madras Institute of Technology, Alagappa Chettiar College of Technology and School of Architecture and Planning. Madras Institute of technology is located in Chromepet. Another campus is located in Taramani.

Constituent Colleges of Anna University

In 1978, the following colleges are taken over by Anna University
1. College of Engineering, Guindy
2. Alagappa College of technology
3. Madras Institute of College
4. School of Architecture and Planning.

In the year of 2001, the following government colleges are taken over by Anna University.
1. Government of College and technology, Coimbatore
2. Alagappa Chettiar College of Engineering and technology, Karaikudi
3. Government College of Engineering, Salem
4. Government College of Engineering, Tirunelveli
5. Thanthai Periyar Government Institute of technology, Vellore
6. Government College of Engineering, Bargur

Departments in Anna University

1.Department of Chemical Engineering
2.Department of Textile Technology
3.Department of Leather Technology
4.Department of Bio technology
5.Department of CECRI
6.Department of Rubber and Plastic technology
7.Department of Ceramic Technology
8.Department of Civil Engineering
9.Department of Structural Engineering
10.Department of Centre for Environmental Studies
11.Department of Centre for Water Resource
12.Department of Institute for Ocean management
13.Department of Mechanical Engineering
14.Department of printing Technology
15.Department of Aerospace Engineering
16.Department of Automobile Engineering
17.Department of Production Technology
18.Department of Power System Engineering
19.Department of Electronics and Instrumentation Engineering
20.Department of Electronic and Communication Engineering
21.Department of Computer Science and Engineering
22.Department of Information technology
23.Department of Computer technology
24.Department of Medical Electronics
25.Department of Management Science
26.Department of Social Science and Humanities
27.Department of Geology
28.Department of Architecture
29.Department of Planning

In the year of 2007, Anna University has been split the following 4 Universities to improve the quality of Education across the state.
1. Anna University, Chennai
2. Anna University, Coimbatore
3. Anna University, Trichy
4. Anna University, Tirunelveli

Vice Chancellor of Anna University, Coimbatore – Dr.K.Karunakaran
Vice Chancellor of Anna University, Trichy – Dr. Rukmani
Vice Chancellor of Anna University, Tirunelveli – Dr.S.Kaliappan


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: