Profile and Biography of Tamilnadu political icon M.Karunanidhi

Get details about the profile and Biography of M.Karunanidhi former chief minister of Tamilnadu, details about the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam DMK political party, winning periods of M.Karunanidhi, history of Karunanidhi and family tree of Karunanidhi.

DMK party leader M.Karunanidhi profile

M.Karunanidhi ex-chief minister of Tamilnadu born on June 3, 1924 at Thirukkuvalai (Nagapattinam District). Karunanidhi is the president of political party DMK / Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam. The founder of this political party is Anna Durai, after his death Karunanidhi leaded the party. Karunanidhi is active for more than 60 years in political field. Apart from politics M.Karunanidhi was a profession in other fields such as Playwright, Rationalist, Screenwriter and lyricist. Nick name of Karunanidhi is Kalaignar. The ideology of DMK is social democratic.

DMK leader M.Karunanidhi Family

M.Karunanidhi was born to Muthuvelar and Anjugam. He was first married to Padmavathy Ammayyar Sister of playback singer C.S. Jayaraman. They gave birth to son M.K.Muthu. Dayalu Ammal is his second wife who gave birth to famous political icons M.K.Azhagiri and M.K.Stalin. M.K.Thamizharasan and M.K.Selvi were also born to Dayalu Ammal. Third wife of Kalaingar is Rajathi Ammal who gave birth to M.K.Kanimozhi.

M.Karunanidhi Biography

KarunanidhiKarunanidhi entered politics when he reached 14years. He is an Atheist participated in Anti-Hindu agitation when he was young. During his young age he reached several milestones. Manavar Nesam newspaper was one such milestone done by the workings of Karunanidhi. This newspaper contains about Dravidan Movement. Now this newspaper was named as Murasoli which is named as official newspaper of DMK party Tamilnadu.

Karunanidhi entered political yard by his protest against Kalakudi issue. Kalakudi is a village in Thiruchirappalli district. Kalakudi village is named as Dalmiapuram when Dalmia cements established their industry here. Kalaingar protested by laying on the railway track in Kalakudi village. Finally protest favored Kalaingar and sustained the name Kalakudi. During this protest Karunanidhi was arrested and two of his colleagues were dead.

Karunanidhi C.M of Tamilnadu history

Karunanidhi success journey started on 1957. He was elected as TN assembly at Kulithalai assembly. On 1961 he was promoted as treasurer of DMK party, on 1962 as deputy leader. In 1967 DMK party won the TN assembly election. Kalaingar was made as minister for public works. On 1969 DMK party immersed with sadness due to Annadurai death. So Kalaingar was pointed as cheif minister of Tamilnadu.

Karunadhi chief minister winning periods
Till now Kalaingar was held as CM of Tamilnadu for five times. During 1977 he lost to MGR consistently. DMK came to force only after MGR's death. After MGR's death Jayalalitha is made as the president of AIADMK party. There will be tuff competition between Jayalalitha and Kalaingar after the year 1989. Both made as CM of Tamilnadu alternatively.
- 10-02-1969 to 04-01-1971
- 15-03-1971 to 31-01-1976
- 27-01-1989 to 30-01-1991
- 13-05-1996 to 13-05-2001
- 13-05-2006 to 15-05-2011

Related Articles

Profile and Biography about complete list of Chief Ministers of Tamilnadu

This article gives you the detailed description about the various chief ministers who had ruled Tamilnadu. You can get to know about their early life, educational back ground, political career, highlights of their political career, scams, controversies and much more. Read the resource below to get detailed information about all the chief ministers of Tamilnadu.

Performances of DMK in Tamilnadu assembly elections

This resource conatains the view of about the party DMK and its performance in the elections that have been so far held in Tamilnadu and its performances in elections for every decade and the alliances that it had in these elections so far. The chief ministers from the DMK party so far held are mentioned below.

Dravida Munnetra Kalagam(DMK) Constituency list in Tamil nadu election 2011

Tamilnadu state assembly election will be held on 13-April-2011.So all the political parties announces their constituency places where it will be participate. DMK announced their constituency list on yesterday(16-03-2011). DMK alliances with PMK,Congress,IUML,PKM,MMK. DMK’s constituency places are 119. The list of constituency was announced on yesterday and the List of Parties who are in the respective constituency will be announce on 17-3-2011.

Profile of Tamil Nadu Chief Minister before Independence 1947

This article will provide complete list of Chief Minister before Independence India. This article will provide complete details of our Chiefministers like, early life, personal details, political career and educational back ground etc. Get to know about Tamil Nadu Chief Ministers, go through this article.

More articles: DMK party Kalaingar karunanidhi Tamilnadu politicians


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: