Himachal's brief historical background.

History of Himachal Pradesh

On 15 august 1948, thirty-one Pahari places of Punjab were merged and a centrally administered state called Himachal Pradesh was made. In 1951, It was declared "C" Sate and came under Lt. Governor. An assembly of 30 members and a three ministers cabinet was made. In 1954, Another state Bilaspur of "C" state was include in the state and number of its Assembly members became 41.

In 1958 Himachal Pradesh state reorganization Commission recommended that Himachal Pradesh should be merged with Punjab but seeing the strong protest of H.P. people, It was not implemented.

Till October 1966, there were only six districts- Mahaus, Mandi, Chamba, Sirmour, Bilaspur, and Kinnaur in the state. In november 1966, some pahari area of panjab – namely Shimla, Kangra, Kullu, lahul & spiti, Nalagrah tehsil of Ambala distrrictsAnd some part of Hosiarpur and Gurdaspur districts were merged in Himachal Pradesh. 10 districts come into being in Himachal and it was given the status of a State. In 1972-73, its districts were recognized and 12 districts come into existence in the State.


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: