Union sanctioned five more National Highways to Himachal Pradesh

Due to the absence of much rail and air services to Himachal, road transportation is the only means left for transportation in Himachal. Due to the increasing tourism in Himachal, the national highways in Himachal are becoming more and more congested.

Looking into the matter, Himachal government thought of widening few national highways and adding more national highways in the state. Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh, Prof. Prem Kumar Dhumal had a meeting with Union Minister of Road Transport and Highways, Mr. Kamal Nath on June 20, 2010 in this respect. The result of the meeting was fruitful as five more national highways were sanctioned for Himachal Pradesh.

At present Himachal Pradesh has 11 national highways with a length 1471.106 kms. The five more national highways sanctioned by Union will be having length of 494.875 kms. Thus making in total 16 national highways in Himachal in coming future together having length of about 1965.981 kms.

Five National Highways Sanctioned for Himachal Pradesh are:

1. Hamirpur-Sujanpur-Palampur of length 59.775 kms.
2. Brahmpukhar-Bilaspur-Ghumarwin-Sarkaghat-Lad Bhadol-Baijnath of length 118.000 kms.
3. Bharmour-Chamba-Dhalousie-Pathankot of length 133.000 kms.
4. Taradev-Jubbarhatti-Kunihar-Ramshehar-Nalagarh-Ghanauli of length 106.400 kms.
5. Chandigarh-Baddi-Nalagarh-Ramshehar-Arki-Shalaghat of length 83.900 kms.

In future two more national higways will be approved for Himachal by Union, thus making in total 18 national highways in Himachal. Those are as follows:

1. Slappar-Pandoh-Chail Chowk-Karsog-Tattapani-Dhalli of length 296.950 kms.
2. Sutlej-Luhari-Banjar-Aut-Bagidhar of length 97.000kms


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: