New Symbol For Indian Rupee

This resource contain information about Indian Rupee & its New symbol introduced by Government of India. This step is taken for the improvement of Indian Rupee standard like USA $ & European Pounds or Euro.

Indian Rupee New Symbol

Rupee Symbol Rs 2010

Introduction to Indian Rupee

Indian Rupee is pronounce in India as Rupiya, the word come from Sanskrit "Rupyakam" meaning a silver coin. The Indian Rupee sub divided in to 100 Paisa. The 1st time the currency of Rupiya introduced by Sher Shaha Suri in 14th century. The Indian Rupee managed by Reserve Bank of India [RBI]. Now Indian Currency contain 1,2,5,10 Rs Coins & Rs 1, 2, 5, 10, 100, 500, 1000 Banknotes in general use.

Need of New Symbol for Indian Rupee

The Indian have its own identity & importance in world finance economy. For maintaining standard & differentiate from other related currency's like Nepal, Pakistan, Bangladesh & Bhutan Rupee currency there is need of changing the symbol of Indian Rupee. The status of international currency's like USA $, Japan Yen, England Pound, etc are having unique symbol for there currency. Government of India introduced the new symbol for Indian Rupee is 'र'. The symbol is a blend of the Devanagari 'र' and the Roman capital 'R' without the stem. The parallel lines at the top (with white space between them) make an allusion to the tricolor Indian flag and also depict an equality sign which symbolizes the nation's desire to reduce economic disparity. The new symbol of Indian Rupee created by IIT alumnus D Udaya Kumar & Symbol adopted by Government of India on 15 July 2010.

News about New symbol for Indian Rupee


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: