Chennai Super Kings IPL history Match details in previous seasons IPL overall fixtures and results

This article gives a brief description about the history of Chennai Super Kings. You can also get the performance of Chennai Super Kings in IPL season 1, IPL season 2 and IPL season 3. A brief description of Chennai Super Kings performance in Champions League T20 2010 can also be viewed in this article. Read below to learn much more about Chennai Super Kings and the team.

History of Chennai Super Kings in Indian Premier League

Chennai Super Kings, the current champions of 2010 IPL tournament is one of the 10 franchise cricket teams that are participating in IPL season 4. India Cements is the current owner of Chennai Super Kings as they bought the franchise in 2008 for a period of 10 years by paying US $91 million. N.Srinivasan, Managing director of India Cements and the current BCCI chairman is the owner of CSK franchise. He will continue to be the owner of Chennai Super Kings franchise till 2018. All the matches are played at Chennai Chepauk Stadium in Chennai.

IPL CSK team has many famous personalities present in the cricket team as well as in the management level. Former Indian captain and 1983 world cup winning team member Krishnamachari Srikkanth is the brand ambassador of Chennai Super Kings. V.B. Chandrasekhar, former Indian and TamilNadu opening Batsman is the chief Selector of CSK. CSK is captained by the 2011 world cup winning India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni. The team is coached by former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming. Suresh Raina, member of 2011 world cup winning team and a superb fielder is the leading run scorer in Chennai Super Kings team.

Chennai Super Kings IPL inaugural performance in the year 2008

Dhoni CSK team had a list of star cricketers in their inaugural IPL season 2008. Players like Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Michael Hussey, Muttiah Muralitharan and Mathew Hayden were the crowd pullers present in the team. They had a very good start to the season by winning against the Kings XI Punjab. The total of 240/5 scored against Kings XI Punjab was the highest total achieved in the tournament. They had a mixed tournament thereafter by winning three consecutive matches against Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers. This was followed by losing three consecutive matches to Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab and Mumbai Indians. Finally they beat Deccan Chargers to qualify for the Semi-Final.

CSK logoChennai Super Kings achieved a total of 18 points which placed them in third position in the IPL league table. CSK played Kings XI Punjab in the semi-final and won the match comfortably to enter the finals of the inagural IPL season. They were not able to maintain the same momemntum and lost to Rajasthan Royals in the final.

Chennai Super Kings performance in IPL season 2 in the year 2009

Andrew Flintoff was the new addition to the team in IPL season 2.It was a bad start to IPL season 2 for CSK as they lost to Mumbai Indians. They recovered well by beating Royal Challengers in the next game. They again lost to Delhi Daredevils and Deccan Chargers in two consecutive matches. This gave them a wake up call and they bounced back well by winning 5 consecutive matches by beating Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Daredevils, Deccan Chargers, Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals. They lost to Royal Challengers and Kolkata Knight Riders and won against Mumbai Indians and Kings XI Punjab.

Chennai Super Kings managed to get a total of 17 points in the league table which placed them in second position in the IPL season 2. In the semi-final they were beaten by Royal Challengers and thus denied the opportunity to enter the final for the second consecutive year.

Chennai Super Kings performance in IPL season 3 in the year 2010

ipl3 championsJustin Kemp and Thissara Perera were added to the team to strengthen the squad in IPL season 3. They started the season with a defeat against Deccan Chargers. They recovered well to win consecutive matches against Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils. They lost 3 matches in a trot to Royal Challengers, Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals. The team gelled well to win 3 consecutive matches against Royal Challengers, Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians. They lost to Deccan Chargers and Delhi Daredevils and won against Kolkata Knight Riders, Kings XI Punjab and Deccan Chargers.

Chennai Super Kings entered the semi-final for the third consecutive year. In the semi-final they beat Deccan Chargers to enter the final for the second time in three years. In the final they beat Mumbai Indians by 22 runs to crowned as the champions of IPL 2010 for the first time.

Chennai Super Kings performance in Champions League T20 in 2008

As the runners in IPL 2008, CSK qualified to play the Champions League T20. Due to Mumbai Attack the tournament got cancelled.

Chennai Super Kings performance in 2009 Champions League T20

Unfortunately CSK did not qualify for the Champions League T20 as they did not enter the final in IPL 2009.

Chennai Super Kings performance in Champions League T20 2010

csk t20Chennai Super Kings entered the Champions League T20 in 2010 by virtue of winning the IPL championship in 2010. Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers are the other team that qualified for the Champions League T20. They came first in their group and played Royal Challengers in the semi-final.

They won that match comfortably and entered the final. In the final they beat Warriors and became the Champions of Champions League T20 2010. CSK became the first team to win the IPL and Champions Leage T20 in the same year.

Overall performance of Chennai Super Kings in Indian Premier League

IPL Year - 2008
Matches Played - 16
Matches Won - 9
Matches Lost - 7
No Result - 0
Position - Runners-Up

IPL Year - 2009
Matches Played - 15
Matches Won - 8
Matches Lost - 6
No Result - 1
Position - Semi-Finalist

IPL Year - 2010
Matches Played - 16
Matches Won - 9
Matches Lost - 7
No Result - 0
Position - Champions

Awards and Highlights of Chennai Super Kings from 2008 to 2010

CSK teamRunners-Up in the IPL Inaugural Season 2008
Winner of Fair Play Award in 2008
Semi-finalist in IPL season 2 2009
Mathew Hayden got the Orange Cap Player Of The Tournament in 2009
Champions in IPL season 3 2010
Winner of Fair Play Award in 2010
Suresh Raina got the Best Fielder Award in 2010
Ravichandran Ashwin got the Most Economical Bowler Award in 2010
Winners of Champions League T20 in 2010

Related Articles

More articles: chennai super kings IPL 4


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: