Sankarankoil 219 (SC) Assembly Bye Election 2012 Statistics

Chennai March 18: The long awaited 219 (SC) Sankarankoil TN Assembly bye election, for which the whole of the Tamil world is keenly watching, began this morning. The Sankarankoil bye election is after the late minister C.Karappasamy. Out of 242 polling stations, Sankarankoil found 21 special booths for women. The total 13 contestants were longing votes from 206087 voters, out of which men comprised 102021, women out numbered 103166 with a difference of 1145 voters.

The long beelines of both genders indicated that it would fetch 90 per cent voting in total. But reports indicated though the voters were waiting in huge numbers in serpentine queues for their turn but it was in snail pace, report sources. By 9 mornings Sankarankoil had registered 19 per cent polling, and by 1pm the graph went to 51 per cent. The hours of Polling was between 08:00 am to 5:00 pm

The vociferous speaker and the leader of MDMK Mr.Vaiko exercised his franchise at a polling booth No.120 around 9am at Kalingpatty. The hopeful contestants were Muthu Selvi (AIADMK), Jawahar Surya Kumar (DMK) Muthu Kumar (DMDK), Sadan Thirumalaikumar (MDMK), and Murugan (BJP).

As per the election election norms the bye elections are conducted after six months if a legislator fail to comply his/her full term.

The Sankaran Koil assembly will be an acid test after the plethora of failings reported including electricity. The first assembly bye election took place in Tiruchirapalli West assembly, when it fall vacant by the death of Mariam Pichai,before hours to swear as Minister, in an accident (within days the of being sworn in as Minister in Jaya regime) The by-election to Tiruchirapalli West was won by M.Paranjothi (AIADMK) defeating former Minister and local satrap K.N.Nehru of the DMK.

The contest was in great wrestling between parties experiencing a deluge, in money and materials being hauled, vehicles being confiscated according to the daily news.


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: