Kalka-Shimla Railway Line.

Kalka Shimla Railway is the world famous Railway line and is declared as World Heritage Property by UNESCO.


Kalka Shimla Railway is a 762 mm, gauge railway situated in Himachal Pradesh.


It was constructed by Delhi-Ambala-Kalka Railway Company commencing in 1948.
On 7 july 2008, the Kalka Shimla Railway line was included in the UNESCO World Heritage list.
The mountain railways of India and Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus in Mumbai have already been declared as world heritage properties.

Stations covered by Railway line

The route offers a fantastic view of Himalayas from Shivalik at Kalka to several spots like:

  • Dharampur

  • Solan

  • Kandaghat

  • Taradevi

  • Barog

  • Salogra

  • Summerhill

  • and
  • Shimla

Tunnels across the railway line

This railway line has 103 tunnels (102 in service). The longest tunnel is at Barog and is named after the engineer Barog.


  • Shivalik Deluxe Express

  • Himalayan Queen

  • Rail Cars

  • Other local trains

  • Documentries on Shimla Kalka Railway Line

    BBC has made a series of three documentaries dealing with Indian Hill Railways. Kalka-Shimla Railway line is documented in the 3rd documentry.


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: