Who will Win Bihar Assembly Elections Analysis Preview Parties Alliances

This article gives an analysis of 2010 Bihar Assembly Polls; Will Nitish Kumar win the 2010 Bihar Assembly Elections; Predictions for 2010 Bihar Assembly Polls 2010; Political Parties 2010 Bihar Assembly Elections.

The Champions League cricket tournament and the 2010 Commonwealth Games Delhi are some of the top news-grabbing headlines at present. Both will fade out, though, once October arrives. A tournament of another kind, political no less, is going to grab media bytes. This is none other than the 2010 Bihar Assembly Elections, the dates of which have been announced recently.

Very soon there will be media exit polls for 2010 Bihar Assembly Elections! Let's consider the 3 main front-runners for the 2010 Bihar Assembly Elections...

Janata Dal-United and Bharatiya Janata Party Alliance 2010 Bihar Assembly Polls

The present Chief Minister of Bihar Nitish Kumar, was at one time close to previous incumbent Lalu Prasad and was very much part of the celebrations when Lalu Prasad won the 1990 Bihar Assembly elections.

Nitish Kumar later forged an alliance with the BJP. The alliance flourished and grabbed a number of seats in the Lok Sabha elections in the subsequent years. The top post of the Chief Minister, though, eluded Nitish Kumar till 2005. A new era of progress and development began and it surprised few when the JD(U)-BJP alliance emphatically won the 2009 Lok Sabha polls.

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) Alliance 2010 Bihar Assembly Polls

For the upcoming Bihar Assembly Elections 2010, Lalu Prasad's Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) is contesting 168 seats and Ram Vilas Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) is contesting 75 seats.

Lalu Prasad has not been a very effective Chief Minister. He has stood up to his staunchest critics, but while he is an ace in quotable quotes (these could fill an entire book!) and dramatic speeches he has created stagnancy in Bihar. There were no major improvements in any field during his regime, be it infrastructure projects, attracting investors to help in economical growth, or any other sector. Lalu Prasad seems to have risen to power solely on the momentum of his self-portrayal as a simple rustic leader and witty remarks in his trademark style.

While Lalu Prasad has openly supported OBCs and got plenty of votes from them earlier, this time round he cannot afford to alienate other cast groups. In pre-election campaigns, he and Vilas Paswan have been wooing not only OBCs and Dalits, but Muslims and upper castes as well.

Speaking of Vilas Paswan, his LJP has not been very successful in power-grabbing, having failed miserably in the 15th Lok Sabha elections without winning even 1 seat. Incredibly, though, Vilas Paswan has made political history: Firstly, he has served as a Union Minster with 5 different Prime Ministers; Secondly, he has had a Cabinet post in every Council of Ministers since 1996; and, thirdly, he has been affiliated to all the 3 govt. coalitions of the Govt. of India from 1996 to 2009.

Congress at 2010 Bihar Assembly Polls

The Congress political party is entering the Bihar Assembly Elections 2010 on its own, without an alliance with any other party. The Congress has appointed Mehboob Ali Kaiser as its PCC President – an obvious move to grab the votes of the Muslim community. Another equally obvious move was the appointment of Dalit leader Mukul Wasnik as the AICC general secretary for Bihar.

In a strategic move, the Congress has decided to put Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar as the front-runner for the post of Chief Minister of Bihar. Meira Kumar is no stranger to the politics. After all, she is the daughter of politician Jagjivan Ram. The Congress is hoping she will get them votes – and the topmost seat of power in the Govt. of Bihar at the 2010 Bihar Assembly Elections.

So who do you think will win the 2010 Bihar Assembly Elections? Leave your comments / predictions below after registering for free here: BiharSpider.com

Fasten your belts for an edge-of-the-seat thriller which will be as exciting as the forthcoming Kollywood films Endhiran and Sultan the Warrior!

On November 24th, 2010, the results will probably be declared. Check them out here: and 2010 Bihar Assembly Elections Results Updates

Related Articles

BJP Bihar Meets with Election Commissioner of Bihar- Bihar Assembly Election 2010

Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) has reported about the issues relating to Electronic Voting Machines(EVMs) which will be used in votings during Bihar Elections 2010. They have seeked advise from Election Commissioner of Bihar regarding the matter and likely to hold meeting in future among all election parties of Bihar for solution.

Congress Looking to Set their Rule in Bihar

Sonia Gandhi's presence in the coming Rally for Congress in Bihar next month of August will throw light on how election will lead to its presence felt in Bihar. Other parties are under some pressure with this Rally now.

More articles: Bihar Assembly Election 2010


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: