Kannada alphabets ( ಕನ್ನಡ ವರ್ಣಮಾಲೆ )

The kannada alphabet has 49 letters. Below are the alphabets with pronunciation

Kannada alphabets has 14 alphabets, The vowels ಐ and ಔ can be considered diphthongs.

ಸ್ವರಗಳು (Vowels)

ಅ ಆ ಇ ಈ ಉ ಊ ಋ ೠ ಎ ಏ ಐ ಒ ಓ ಔ ಅಂ ಅಃ
a A i I u U Ru RU e E ai o O au M H

There are five groups of consonants with 5 letters each.

ವರ್ಗೀಯ ವ್ಯಂಜನಗಳು (Grouped Consonants)

ಕ ಖ ಗ ಘ ಙ
ka kha ga Ga ~ga

ಚ ಛ ಜ ಝ ಞ
ca Ca ja jha ~ja

ಟ ಠ ಡ ಢ ಣ
Ta Tha Da Dha Na

ತ ಥ ದ ಧ ನ
ta tha da dha na

ಪ ಫ ಬ ಭ ಮ
pa pha Ba bha ma

There are nine or ten miscellaneous consonants (we show ten). Some people discount the consonant ಕ್ಷ (kSha) because it is really a combination of the consonants ಕ (ka) and ಷ (Sha).

ಅವರ್ಗೀಯ ವ್ಯಂಜನಗಳು (Miscellaneous Consonants)

ಯ ರ ಲ ವ ಶ ಷ ಸ ಹ ಳ ಕ್ಷ
ya ra la wa sha Sha sa ha La kSha


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: