Karnataka High Court - History, Judges & Structure

In this article I am going to explain you about the information about the Karnataka High court, such as the History, Structure and present Judges of the Court..

Karnataka High Court

In this article I am going to explain you about the Karnataka High court. I have included the topics like,

The year of establishment of the High court is 1881. So, it is more than 110 years old so far. It is in the city and capital of Karnataka. The Justice of this Karnataka High court now is, Mr. Vikramajit Sen.

The name of the building in which the Karnataka High court occupying is, the Attara Kacheri. When we have a look at the history of this High court, it is built at the 1880's. In the beginning, the court was formed by three judges. The court was initially with the several courts under itself such like, District court of Karnataka High court, Sub ordinate judges court and also the Munsiff courts. Most of the civil cases will be under taken with the assistance of the Munsiff courts. The magistrates were undertaking the criminal cases.

Structure of Karnataka High court

As we have seen at the top, the structure of the Karnataka high court is called the Attara Kacheri. This Kannada word,Attara kacheri stands for the Eight offices. The whole out side of the Karnataka High court looks Red in color with full of red colored bricks. The classical style in which the structure of the Karnataka high court has been built is, known as neoclassical style.

This Karnataka high court was built under the supervision by Mr. Rao Bahadur Arcot Narayana Swami Mudaliar and the construction work was completely done at the year of 1868.

Judges of Karnataka High Court

The total number of judges in this high court is, 40. The judge Mr.M N Venkatachaliah will be appointed as the Chief judge of India. The judges including N. Venkatachala is to be appointed as the judges of Supreme court of India.

Chief Justices of Karnataka high court

The name of the chief judges of Karnataka High court were as follows,
Raja Dharma Praveena Diwan Bahadur P Mahadevayya,
Nittoor Srinivasa Rau,
Sam Piroj Bharucha and
G. T. Nanavati
Now the Mr. Vikramajit Sen is officiating as the Acting Chief Justice


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: