History, tourist places, districts and how to reach Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand,the land of Gods represents the beauty of nature world wide. The state of India include many temples,holy places and one of the greatest attraction of tourists,Himalaya peaks,glaciers,hillstations in it. In this article ,you will get the information about the state Uttarakhand,its history,its districts,tourist places and how to reach to these spectacular tourist places.For more information kindly read the article below :

History of Uttarakhand

Uttaranchal, the land of Gods is a part of northern India. Uttaranchal was established on 9 November, 2000 and the term Uttaranchal came into use when Uttar Pradesh government and BJP (Bharatiya Janta Party ) led in 1998 but the name Uttaranchal was officially changed from Uttaranchal to Uttarakhand on Janurary 2007. The capital of Uttarakhand is Dehradun and one of the largest city of this state also. The state Uttarakhand is known as land of Gods because of the presence of many temples and holy places. This state is also well known for a social ecological movement which is Chipko Andolanor Chipko movement. This movement is known for villages and people rich in culture.

Uttarakhand at glance

Uttarakhand state covers approximately 53,566 km2 (20,681.9 sq mi) total area. On the northern part,it borders Tibet,Uttar Pradesh to the south,Haryana to the west,Himachal Pradesh to the north west and Nepal to the east side. Uttarakhand is a land of spectacaular scenery,landform and a land of beauty. According to 2011 population counting Uttarakhand is having population about 10,116,752 and about 72% people are literate in this state. Geographically,Uttarakhand state has 93 % mountain area ,out of which 64% is covered with forest. Great Himalayas lies on the northern part of Uttarakhand. Two rivers,namely Ganges and Yamuna originates in the glaciers of Uttarakhand state and are Hindus most holy rivers.

Districts of Uttarakhand state

The state Uttarakhand is divided into thirteen districts and are named below:
1. Chamoli
2. Bageshwar
3. Champawat
4. Almora
5. Nainital
6. Tehri Garhwal
7. Pauri Garhwal
8. Dehradun
9. Udham Singh Nagar
10. Pithoragarh
11. Rudraprayag
12. Uttarkashi
13. Haridwar
Chamoli is the birthplace of Chipko Andolan and is a land of beauty and nature ,it maintains dramatic landform,water edges. This district is located in Garhwal region of Uttarakhand state.
Bageshwar is the land of lord Shiva and Maa Parvati as per people believe and is situated in Kamoan river.
Champawat district is basically a hill station. Many of the tourists visit here and this district is famous for it's wildlife,temples,trekking. The term Champawat is derived from Champawati ,King Arjun Deo's daughter.
Almora is considered as the cultural heart of Kumaon region of state Uttarakhand and is located on the southern edge of Kumaon hills of Himalaya peaks.Nainital is the place of tourists and is known as lake District of India.
Tehri Garhwal district is having largest area in Uttarakhand state. This name is derived from the term Trihari. This was ruled by Panwar dynasty and was a princely state.
Pauri Garhwal is having 5,399 square kilometres area and its headquarters is at Pauri and was a part of Garhwal kingdom.
Dehradun is one of the largest city of Uttarakhand stdte. Large number of tourists visit there. Mussoorie,a beautiful tourist place is situated 34kms from Dehradun.
Pithoragarh borders two countries on its north and east side. This district is 1650 metres above from the sea level.Rudraprayag is a holy district and is in the Garhwal region of Uttarakhand.
Uttarkashi district is situated at an altitude of 1352 metres above from sea level. A lot of temples and Ashrams are in this district and is a holy place as it7 meaning tells us kashi of the north. Haridwar is a holy place as per Hindu religion. Haridwar is known all over the India because of its temples,people spirituality and belief.
Udham Singh Nagar is located in Kumaon divison and is having 2,908 square kilometres area and total population of this district is about1,235,614 and the headquarter of this district is in Rudrapur.

Tourist places in Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand state is well known for its tourist destinations such as temples,holy places,cool atmosphere,hill stations,glaciers,superb sceneries,landforms. Tourist destinations in this state are Kedarnath
. Haridwar
. Auli
. Chamba
. Kausani
. Badrinath
. Rishikesh
. Rudrapur
. Mukteshwar
. Almora
. Binsar
. Kausari
. Nanda Devi
. Mussoorie
. Ranikhet
Uttarakhand is also famous for its wildlife because of the presence of
. National park
. Nanda devi national park
. Govind national park
and also famous because of its glaciers like
. Gangotri glacier
. Milam glacier
.Pindari glacier
.Dokrani glacier
. Sunderdhunga glacier
. Namik glacier
. Khatling glacier
Many holy rivers like Ganga and Yamuna originates from here.

How to reach Mussoorie ?

Mussoorie is a hill station and is well known as queen of hills and there are a lot of places to see in Mussoorie. Mussoorie is about 34 kms from Dehradun and you can reach to Mussoorie by bus,car,flight. This hill station of yours is having pleasant climate around the year and a cool place with greenery all around. People who want to visit Mussoorie, should visit between April to June and again September to November.Temperature of Mussoorie in summer is 31.2°C (max);7.2°C (min) and in winter it is 7.2°C(max) ;1.1°C (min) .Through flight ,you can reach to Dehradun in 2 1/4 hour,60 kms.

How to reach Mukteshwar ?

Mukteshwar is a hill station of state Uttarakhand and if you are in Nainital then by the mean of buses,taxi cab you can reach to Mukteshwar in 2 hours as it is 52 km from Nainital.

How to reach Baleshwar ?

Through Baleshwar you can travel to Baleshwar. Baleshwar is 76km away on the Tankpur road. Baleshwar is famous for its beautiful temples built by Chand rajas in the 8th century.

How to reach Nainital ?

You can reach Nainital by air,road,rail link. If you are in Delhi,then by the following route you can reach Nainital ; Delhi via Ghaziabad,Hapur,Gajraula,Moradabad,Rampur,Kathgodam and finally Nainital.

How to reach Ranikhet ?

From a long time,Ranikhet is being the famous tourist place in Uttarakhand and if you are in old Delhi then via Ranikhet express you can reach to Kathgodam . Ranikhet express departs from Delhi at 10:45pm and reaches Kathgodam at
6:05am . Then by the mean of private taxis,buses you can reach to Ranikhet as well.


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: