Mumbai Indians IPL Team

The Board of Cricket for Cricket in India (BCCI) conducts Twenty-20 Cricket Matches every year since from the year 2008. Mumbai Indians is the team selected in the west zone of India and is one of the best teams in the contest of Twenty-20 Cricket.

Introduction of Mumbai Indians (MI):

The Mumbai Indians (MI) Team has an audience of over 239 Millions. At the inauguration of the 2008 Indian Premier League, Mumbai Indians was the first most costlier team amongst the other 7 teams that took part in the competition. The Mumbai Indians Team is owned by the IndiaWin Sports Pvt. Ltd. which is a sub part of the Reliance Group of Industries. The Mumbai Indians Team is in association with the clubs like Mumbai Cricket Team and the Mumbai Football Club (Mumbai FC). The Icon player of the team is Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar whereas the coach of Mumbai Indians is Robin Singh who is a Former Cricketer who represented Indian Cricket Team.

Brand Value of Mumbai Indians (MI):

The Mumbai Indians brand value on 2008 at auctions went to about Rs. 441 Cr of Indian rupees whereas it is equivalent to the US $ 112.9 m at that time. Hence, the Mumbai Indians team was ranked as highest cost worthy team. But this title was snatched by the Pune Warriors Team during the season four of the IPL 2011. In these auctions, Subroto Roy, owner of Pune Warriors paid the highest amongst all the teams in the IPL 2011. As the Icon Player of Mumbai Indians is Sachin Tendulkar, the brand value will never be evaluated in front of his talent.

Selection of Players and Logo:

The selection of Mumbai Indians Team was a crucial task for Reliance group of Industries. Also it is said that they selected players by using the method of placing the names of players on board and pick any one that is hit by the dart that is being thrown on to the board. As there is no any official confirmation on this and who knows it might be a situation where they might have got confused to pick out the players of highest caliber. Also there was a restriction on money that was used in the auction and every owner was permitted a limited amount to be spent on the players.

The logo of Mumbai Indians is designed using Sudarshana Chakra on which they have engraved the teams name and hence the logo is as follows:

Mumbai Indians Logo

Team Composition:

The foreign player's country is depicted right after their names. Whereas as, if not mentioned then they are Indian players. The team composition is divided in to four categories as follows:

i) Batsmen:
Sachin Tendulkar (Captain), Aiden Blizzard (Australia), Sarul Kanwar, Rohit Sharma, Tirumalasetti Suman and Suryakumar Yadav.

ii) Wicket Keeper:
Davy Jacobs (South Africa), Ambati Rayudu and Aditya Tare.

iii) All Rounders:
James Franklin (New Zealand), Moises Henriques (Australia), Kieron Pollard (Trinidad and Tobago), Rajagopal Sathish and Andrew Symonds (Australia).

iv) Bowlers:
Yuzvendra Chahal, Dilhara Fernando (Sri Lanka), Harbhajan Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Ali Murtaza, Abu Nechim, Munaf Patel, Raymond Price (Zimbabwe), Pawan Suyal and Clint McKay (Australia).

Support Staff:

Director: T A Shekhar.
Captain: Sachin Tendulkar.
Vice-Captain: Harbhajan Singh.
Coach: Robin Singh.
Assistant coach: Paras Mhambrey.
Batting Consultant: Lance Klusener.
Mentor: Shaun Pollock (South Africa).
Fielding: Jonty Rhodes (South Africa).
Fitness Trainer: Ramji Srinivasan.
Masseur: Donald Shugg.
Performance Analyst: Dhananjai CKM (Sports Mechanics).

Related Articles

Schedule of Champions’ League 2010

Schedule of Champions' League 2010; Mumbai Indian Matches in Champions' League 2010; Mumbai Indians and many more information on Mumbai Indians and Champions' League 2010.

More articles: Mumbai Indians


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: