Tamil Nadu State Assembly Elections 2011 Review of Ambasamudram Constituency Previous Elections

Here you can read the review of previous elections at Ambasamudram Constituency of Tirunelveli for Tamil Nadu State Assembly Elections 2011.

Tamil Nadu State Assembly Elections 2011 Review of Ambasamudram Constituency Previous Elections

Ambasamudram Assembly Constituency Tirunelveli District

Ambasamudram is a taluk located at Tirunelveli District. Ambasamudram is famous for agriculture activities. It has the pride to introduce the rice vareity named 'Ambai 16' to Tamil Nadu. Ambasamudram is a place which inherits natural beauty with Western Ghats, ample water for irrigation through Tamirabaranai river, everywhere you can able to see the greenary. Ambasamudram, Papanasam Dam, Servalaru Dam, Manimuthar dam, Panatheertham falls, Agasthiar Falls, Mancholai are the best tourist attractions of tirunelveli which is visited by people throughout the year. Dams at Tirunelveli and Thoothukudi that makes the major living for the people, as people here engaged mainly on agriculture. Now let's see the review of previous elections at Ambasamudram constituency.

Ambasamudram Constituency State Assembly Previous Elections History - A Review

On the first election of Ambasamudram in the year 1952, Independent candidate Chockalingam defeated Congress candidate Lakshmi Shankar and the first MLA of Ambasamudram Constituency is P. Chockalingam.

During 1957 elections Congress candidate Gomathisankara Dikshidar defeated CPM candidate Nallasivan. The same result continued on 1962 and 1967 elections too where, Gomathi Dikshidar defeated CPM candidate Nallasivan for three consecutive years.

AT 1971 elections Congress candidate Shanmugamuthu Thevar won the election by defeating DMK candidate Ananthakrishnan.

So for four years it was congress who won the elections consecutively.

1977 elections saw the four cornered contest between Marxist, Indian Communist Party, Janata Party(JNP) and DMK. But Indian Communist Party candidate got defeated by Marxist candidate Easwaramoorthy who won the election.

In the year 1980 also the Marxist Party got elected by defeating Congress party. The second time also Easwaramoorthy defeated Congress candidate Shanmugamuthu Thevar.

In 1984 for the first time ADMK contested here and defeated Marxist. Nallasivan Marxist candidate got defeated for fifth time here and Balasubramanian ADMK candidate won the election.

In 1989 ADMK split into two factions one led by Jayalalitha and one by Janaki and so the election was three cornered contest with congress on one side. But Congress Candidate Ravi Arunan defeated ADMK Jayalalitha candidate Murugaiah Pandian. So after 18 years congress has captured back the ambasamudram constituency.

In 1991 elections there was a contest between ADMK and CPM. ADMK candidate Murugaiah Pandian defeated CPM candidate Chellappa. So for the second time ADMK won the election here.

In 1996 election DMK contested with ADMK. Except 1989 elecions all the elections so far held had got countable number of candidates who contested for the elections. At this year there were 22 candidates contested. MDMK which got splitted from DMK also contested at this time. But above everything, DMK candidate Avudaiyappan defeated ADMK candidate Murugaiah Pandian. So for the first time, DMK set its foot on Ambasamudram constituency through this election.

2001 elections was a bit tough between DMK and ADMK. But ADMK candidate Sakthivel Murugan defeated DMK candidate Avudaiyappan.

During 2006 elections also there was a tough competition between DMK and ADMK. DMK candidate Avudaiyappan defeated ADMK Candidate Murugaiah Pandian. Ambasamudram has got star status because of the victory of Avudaiyappan. He got the position as Speaker of Tamil Nadu Assembly.

So far in the previous 13 elections held at Ambasamudram Constituency, Congress got elected for 5 times, CPM won the election 3 times and also ADMK got elected for 3 times and DMK won the election for 2 times.

During the past three elections the Ambasamudram constituency was dominated by Dravidian Parties and now during this coming Elections 2011 we will see how the election will be and to whom the people is going to vote for and let's wait for the Election 2011 results to know who is going to win the elections at this Ambasamudram constituency of Tirunelveli District.

Ambasamudram Constituency Assembly Election Results 2006 Status

Avudaiyappan (DMK) - 49345
Murugaiah Pandian (AIADMK) - 33614
Narayanan A (JD(U)) - 16370
Ponraj S (DMDK) - 2412
Venkatasalam M (AIFB) - 1541
Anburaj Subramanian S.V (BJP) - 1425
Ganesan E (BSP) - 959
Velmurugan (IND) - 650
Vaithiyalingam (IND) - 580
Ramesh R (IND) - 386
Ravindran M.V. (IND) - 278
Rajasingh (IND) - 215
Mariasingam S (IND) - 161
Athimoolam N (IND) - 123

Ambasamudram Constituency Voters Statistics for Elections 2011

In Ambasamudram Constituency during the previous election there were a total of 1,62,742 voters. Out of this 79,480 voters are males and 83,262 are female voters. The current election 2011 voters list of Ambasamudram states that, there are a total of 1,89,562 voters are there. In this, 94,004 are male voters and 95,558 are female voters. There is a considerable increase of 26,820 voters than previous election. Total number of poll booths at Ambasamudram is 238.


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: